HomeConference in Cooperation withHome

ARES 2006

The First International Conference on Availability, Reliability and Security

The International Dependability Conference - Bridging Theory and Practice
April 20th - April 22nd 2006, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

DeSeGov 2006

Workshop “Dependability and Security in e-Government” (DeSeGov 2006)


Vienna, April 20th -22nd 2006

in conjunction with The First International Conference on Availability, Reliability and Security ( ARES 2006 )

Call for Papers

Many governments have now significant e-government applications that offer more and more the day-to-day services to the citizen. ICT infrastructure has become as important as government offices and its officials: crucial for the functioning of the state. Modern government is today dependent on its functioning ICT: the systems must be available, reliable, safe, confidential, integer and secure.

The aim of this workshop is to foster a forum for discussing and presenting recent research results on dependability and security in e-Government applications. Scientific rigor and discussions of state of the art of dependability and security in e-Government are strongly encouraged. Besides, innovative research work in progress and studies of dependability aspects of practical e-Government projects and systems implementation are also welcome.

Topics of interest include, although not limited to, the following:

• Trust and security: provisions and instruments
• Online availability of public services
• Service survivability and maintainability
• Interoperability of services
• Security in e-democracy (including e-participation and e-voting)
• E-justice (administration and workflow security for legal processes)
• Secure federating information access (from different government and third party agencies)
• Security and reliability in media integration
• Secure e-government and Identity Management
• Security and reliability of Smart Card System
• Availability and reliability of mobile services
• Data protection and data privacy (e.g. e-health and e-education)
• Intrusion detection and prevention
• Anti-spam legislation and solution
• Public-private- partnerships management
• Role-based management and usage restriction

Important Dates

Submission Deadline: January, 20th 2006
Author Notification: February, 1st 2006
Author Registration: February, 7th 2006
Proceedings Version: February, 7th 2006

Submission Guidelines

The proceedings of this workshop will be published by IEEE. Authors are invited to submit their papers in the IEEE Computer Society Proceedings Manuscripts format (two columns, single-spaced, including figures and references, using 10 fonts, and number each page). The IEEE Computer Society Proceedings Author Guidelines are available at the following web page:

URL: http://computer.org/cspress/instruct.htm
or http://www.tinmith.net/tabletop2006/IEEE/Format/instruct.htm

Submission are classified into 3 categories (1) full paper (8 pages), (2) short paper (5 pages), and (3) poster (2 pages) representing original, previously unpublished work. Submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of exposition.

Contact author must provide the following information: paper title, authors' names, affiliations, postal address, phone, fax, and e-mail address of the author(s), about 200-250 word abstract, and about five keywords and register at our ARES website: http://www.ares-conf.org/?q=submission. Prepare your paper in PDF or MS Word file and submit it to our site at http://www.ares-conf.org/?q=submission

Submission of a paper implies that should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and present the paper in the conference. Accepted papers will be given guidelines in preparing and submitting the final manuscript(s) together with the notification of acceptance.


All accepted papers (full and short papers) will be published by IEEE Computer Society.

Workshop Chairpersons

A Min Tjoa, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Erich Schweighofer, University of Vienna, Austria

Programme Committee

  • Peggy Agouris, University of Maine, USA
  • Yigal Arens, USC/Columbia University Digital Government Research Center, USA
  • Jon Bing, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Fernando Galindo, University of Zaragoza, Spain
  • Dieter Klumpp, Alcatel SEL Foundation, Germany
  • Robert Krimmer, Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration, Austria
  • Scott F. Midkiff, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University,USA
  • Enrico Nardelli, University of Rome TorVergata, Italy
  • Tho Manh Nguyen, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Erich Schweighofer, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Efthimios Tambouris, CERTH/ITI, Greece
  • A Min Tjoa, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Greg B. White, The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Maria A. Wimmer, University of Koblenz, Germany

  • (more will be confirmed)