LPW 2019

The First Location Privacy Workshop (LPW 2019)

to be held in conjunction with the 14th International Conference on Availability, Reliability and Security
(ARES 2019 – http://www.ares-conference.eu)

August 26 – August 29, 2019, Canterbury, UK

Location and mobility data are highly sensitive, as they can be used to infer a number of other personal and sensitive data on an individual. However, human mobility is highly predictable, and location information is routinely collected by location-aware devices (e.g. smartphones), connected vehicles and smart transportation systems, e-tolling, and cameras with face recognition among others.

Location privacy is a rapidly developing research area, and the first Location Privacy Workshop (LPW) will provide a platform for original research and discussion on all technical aspects of privacy and security of location-based services.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Location privacy
Security of location-aware mobile devices
Privacy-enhancing technologies for location-based services
Privacy and anonymity in (public) transportation systems
Privacy in connected autonomous vehicles
Security of smart mobility applications
Privacy in location-aware social media
Privacy in position-based advertising

Malicious and pervasive tracking, de-anonymization
Cryptographic protocols and schemes for location information
Data structures for location information
Security and reliability of positioning systems
Location verification and authentication
Location forensics
Data protection techniques for regulatory (GDPR) compliance

Important Dates
Submission Deadline May 10, 2019
Author Notification June 10, 2019
Proceedings Version June 23, 2019
ARES EU Symposium August 26, 2019
Conference August 26 – August 29, 2019
Program Chairs

Paolo Palmieri
University College Cork, Ireland

Luca Calderoni
University of Bologna, Italy

Program Committee Members

Antoine Boutet ‒ INSA de Lyon, France
Mauro Conti ‒ University of Padua, Italy
Chhagan Doot ‒ University of Padua, Italy
Zekeriya Erkin ‒ Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Sébastien Gambs ‒ Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
Kimmo Järvinen ‒ University of Helsinki, Finland
Ioannis Krontiris ‒ Huawei European Research Center, Germany
Jelena Milosevic ‒ TU Vienna, Austria
Jun Pang ‒ University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Constantinos Patsakis ‒ University of Piraeus, Greece
Francesco Regazzoni ‒ University of Lugano, Switzerland
Simonas Šaltenis ‒ Aalborg University, Denmark
Michael Solomon ‒ University of Cumberlands, USA
Guillermo Suarez de Tangil ‒ King’s College London, UK

Submission Guidelines

The submission guidelines valid for the workshop are the same as for the ARES conference. They can be found at https://www.ares-conference.eu/conference/submission/.