LPW 2020

The 2nd Location Privacy Workshop (LPW 2020)

to be held in conjunction with the 15th International Conference on Availability, Reliability and Security
(ARES 2020 – http://www.ares-conference.eu)

August 25 – August 28, 2020

Location and mobility data are highly sensitive, as they can be used to infer a number of other personal and sensitive data on an individual. However, human mobility is highly predictable, and location information is routinely collected by location-aware devices (e.g. smartphones), connected vehicles and smart transportation systems, e-tolling, and cameras with face recognition among others.

Location privacy is a rapidly developing research area, and the second Location Privacy Workshop (LPW) provides a platform for original research and discussion on all technical aspects of privacy and security of location-based services.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Security of location-aware mobile devices
Privacy-enhancing technologies for location-based services
Privacy and anonymity in (public) transportation systems
Privacy in connected autonomous vehicles
Security of smart mobility applications
Privacy in location-aware social media
Privacy in position-based advertising
Malicious and pervasive tracking

De-anonymization of location traces
Cryptographic protocols and schemes for location information
Data structures for location information
Security and reliability of positioning systems
Location verification and authentication
Location forensics
Data protection techniques for regulatory (GDPR) compliance

Important Dates
Submission Deadline May 17, 2020
Author Notification June 12, 2020
Proceedings Version July 05, 2020
ARES EU Symposium August 25, 2020
All-Digital Conference August 25 – August 28, 2020
Program Chairs

Paolo Palmieri
University College Cork, Ireland

Luca Calderoni
University of Bologna, Italy

Program Committee Members

Antoine Boutet, INSA de Lyon, France
Zekeriya Erkin Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Sébastien Gambs Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
Prosanta Gope, University of Sheffield, UK
Kévin Huguenin, Université de Lausanne, Switzerland
Kimmo Järvinen University of Helsinki, Finland
Ioannis Krontiris Huawei European Research Center, Germany
Jun Pang University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Raúl Pardo, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Constantinos Patsakis University of Piraeus, Greece
Francesco Regazzoni University of Lugano, Switzerland
Michael Solomon University of Cumberlands, USA
George Theodorakopoulos, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
Rolando Trujillo Rasúa, Deakin University, Australia

Submission Guidelines

The submission guidelines valid for the workshop are the same as for the ARES conference. They can be found at https://www.ares-conference.eu/conference/submission/.