LPW 2021

The 3rd Location Privacy Workshop (LPW 2021)

to be held in conjunction with the 16th International Conference on Availability, Reliability and Security
(ARES 2021 – http://www.ares-conference.eu)

August 17 – August 20, 2021

Location and mobility data are highly sensitive, as they can be used to infer a number of other personal and sensitive data on an individual. However, human mobility is highly predictable, and location information is routinely collected by location-aware devices (e.g. smartphones), connected vehicles and smart transportation systems, e-tolling, and cameras with face recognition among others.

Location privacy is a rapidly developing research area, and the second Location Privacy Workshop (LPW) provides a platform for original research and discussion on all technical aspects of privacy and security of location-based services.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Security of location-aware mobile devices
Privacy-enhancing technologies for location-based services
Privacy and anonymity in (public) transportation systems
Privacy in connected autonomous vehicles
Security of smart mobility applications
Privacy in location-aware social media
Privacy in position-based advertising
Malicious and pervasive tracking

De-anonymization of location traces
Cryptographic protocols and schemes for location information
Data structures for location information
Security and reliability of positioning systems
Location verification and authentication
Location forensics
Data protection techniques for regulatory (GDPR) compliance
Location-based contact tracing

Important Dates
Submission Deadline April 30, 2021
Author Notification June 03, 2021
Proceedings Version June 13, 2021
ARES EU Symposium August 17, 2021
All-Digital Conference August 17 – August 20, 2021
Program Chairs

Paolo Palmieri
University College Cork, Ireland

Luca Calderoni
University of Bologna, Italy

Program Committee Members 2020

Antoine Boutet, INSA de Lyon, France
Matthew Bradbury, Lancaster University, United Kingdom
Zekeriya Erkin, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Sébastien Gambs, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
Prosanta Gope, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Kimmo Järvinen, University of Helsinki, Finland
Ioannis Krontiris, Huawei European Research Center, Germany
Jun Pang ‒ University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Raúl Pardo – IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Constantinos Patsakis, University of Piraeus, Greece
Francesco Regazzoni, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Julián Salas Piñón, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain
George Theodorakopoulos, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
Rolando Trujillo Rasúa, Deakin University, Australia
Isabel Wagner, De Montfort University, United Kingdom

Submission Guidelines

The submission guidelines valid for the workshop are the same as for the ARES conference. They can be found at https://www.ares-conference.eu/conference/submission/.