The 8th International Workshop on Cyber Use of Information Hiding
  • Date
    Jul 30 — Aug 02, 2024
  • Location
    University of Vienna, Austria
Workshops Lettering

Workshop Chairs

Workshop Chairs Logo Workshop Chairs Logo Workshop Chairs Logo Workshop Chairs Logo Workshop Chairs Logo Workshop Chairs Logo
  • → Wojciech Mazurczyk
  • → Philipp Amann
  • → Luca Caviglione
  • → Angelo Consoli
  • → Peter Kieseberg
  • → Joerg Keller

Detail CUING 01/04

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to 02/04

  • Cyber information hiding techniques
  • Studies regarding the use of information hiding in cybercrime
  • Analysis of cybercrime cases related to information hiding
  • New steganographic & steganalysis methods
  • Local, air-gapped, and network covert channels
  • Side channels and less obvious usage of information hiding techniques
  • Digital watermarking of multimedia content and network traffic
  • Stegomalware-related research, including techniques and detection
  • Novel countermeasures against information hiding techniques: detection, prevention, limitation
  • Evasion, obfuscation, and anti-forensics techniques used in cyberattacks
  • Traffic type obfuscation techniques, e.g., traffic morphing
  • Hiding covert communication within network attacks, e.g., DDoS, SPAM, etc.
  • Underground marketplaces and their business models (e.g., legal and technical aspects of darknet)
  • Information-hiding-based botnets and their mitigation
  • Information hiding based on adversarial learning and generative AI
  • Utilization of AI/ML techniques for improved data hiding techniques and detection methods
  • Information hiding in AI/ML models and datasets
  • Utilization of information hiding techniques to fight disinformation
  • Privacy enhancing techniques
  • Aspects and methods for sharing strategic intelligence
  • Abusing legitimate social media, cloud-based services, etc. for information hiding purposes

Workshop Chairs 03/04

Workshop Chairs

Workshop Chairs Logo
Wojciech Mazurczyk
Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Workshop Chairs Logo
Philipp Amann
Europol, European Cybercrime Centre, The Netherlands
Workshop Chairs Logo
Luca Caviglione
CNR – IMATI, Italy
Workshop Chairs Logo
Angelo Consoli
Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera italiana (SUPSI), Switzerland
Workshop Chairs Logo
Peter Kieseberg
FH St. Pölten, Austria
Workshop Chairs Logo
Joerg Keller
FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany

Program Committee

Soumya Banerjee | CNAM-CEDRIC LAB, INRIA-EVA, Paris, France
Krzysztof Cabaj | Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Michal Choras | Bydgoszcz University of Science and Technology, Poland
Jana Dittmann | Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany
Mordechai Guri | Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Zbigniew Kotulski | Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Rafal Kozik | Bydgoszcz University of Science and Technology, Poland
Christian Kraetzer | Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany
David Megias | Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain
Aleksandra Mileva | University Goce Delcev, Republic of Macedonia
Marek Pawlicki | Bydgoszcz University of Science and Technology, Poland
Zbigniew Piotrowski | Military University of Technology, Poland
Steffen Wendzel | Worms University of Applied Sciences and FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany
Milad Taleby Ahvanooey | Nanjing University, China
Maria Carla Calzarossa | University of Pavia, Italy
Marco Cremonini, | University of Milan, Italy
Mattia Epifani | CNR, Italy
Massimo Guarascio | CNR – ICAR, Italy
Stefan Katzenbeisser | University of Passau, Germany
Minoru Kuribayashi | Okayama University, Japan
Jean-Francois Lalande | CentraleSupélec, France
Daniel Lerch-Hostalot | Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain
Shujun Li | University of Kent, UK
Pawel Rajba | University of Wroclaw, Poland
Martin Steinebach | Fraunhofer SIT, Germany
Hui Tian | National Huaqiao University, China
Tanja Zseby | Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Marco Zuppelli | CNR – IMATI, Italy
Tobias Schmidbauer | Nuremberg Institute of Technology, Germany
Avinash Srinivasan | United States Naval Academy, USA
Remi Cogranne | Troyes University of Technology, France

Submission 04/04

Important Dates

Extended Submission Deadline May 14, 2024
Author Notification Jun 02, 2024
Proceedings Version Jun 18, 2024
Conference Jul 30 — Aug 02, 2024
Submit your paper here!
Your academic contribution for ARES 2024.